Skip to content

MUSTAPHA AMEGO PASSES ON

October 24, 2013

I woke up this morning to Azuka Jebose’s Whatsapp message sent at 3.11am this morning. It stated simply, “Mustapha dies”. I can imagine the state my brother Azuka was in when he left that message, for Azuka is a writer-not a man of few words. We all had been praying for a peaceful transition for Mustapha Amego but how it hurts! May his gentle soul rest in peace.
Here is Azuka’s report: Mustapha’s message, 48 hours before he died!!!!
“I AM BLESSED TO HAVE BEEN BORN A NIGERIAN”.
TERMINALLY ILL MUSTAPHA AMEGO
This afternoon, terminally ill Nigeria’s affable funk master and former president of the Performing Musicians Association of Nigeria, PMAN,, Mustapha Amego, was discharged from the Maryland Medical Center, in Maryland, USA. Musky as we fondly call him is expected to begin a hospice home care, indefinitely. Amego, widely known to Nigeria’s music lovers of 80s through late 90s, as “Funky Mallam” has been battered and brutalized by Colon cancer that had spread to other body organs within the past few months.
“Hospice care provides medical services, emotional support, and spiritual resources for people who are in the last stages of a serious illness, such as cancer or heart failure. Hospice care also helps family members manage the practical details and emotional challenges of caring for a dying loved one.
Why might you choose hospice care?
The goal of hospice treatment is to keep you comfortable and improve your quality of life while you are dying. This philosophy is a shift from usual medical treatments, in which health professionals strive to cure your disease. Hospice services are not intended to speed up or prolong the dying process. They focus instead on relieving pain and other symptoms. Hospice caregivers are concerned with enhancing the quality of remaining life by keeping you as alert and comfortable as possible in a familiar environment with family and friends.
Hospice programs offer services in your own home or in a hospice center. Some hospices also offer services in nursing homes, long-term care facilities, or hospitals”. Source: http://www.webmd.com…
During a telephone conversation this evening with Mustapha, his voice waning, weak and frail, barely audible, he expressed appreciations for the support, empathy that blanketed his life since his family went public with his health challenges.
“ Zuky,I just wished God would give me more time to thank every Nigerian. I am grateful to have been born Nigerian. I hope someday we would resolve our various differences and live as one Nigeria, be as great as the United States. We are a resilient people, regardless of our diversity. Where else can you find a unique ethnic peoples under one nation, with beautiful and diversified cultures, peoples, traditions and customs?.Nigeria is such a glorious nation and I pray the powers that be would someday allow our children to tell the stories of our resilience and our great people. Zuky, I thank you, Joel, Jude, Alex Zitto, and everybody. I am at peace and have accepted my circumstance. I don’t have much time left. But I am fulfilled… I want to be remembered as a son, a father who did his best to reach out, remember me as somebody who, despite disagreements, always found ways to put myself in people’s shoes. Zuky, it’s in God’s hands now. And I am happy, man, because I started this life’s journey with half full cup and filled it , it was difficult, but I filled it. I am fulfilled”. Increase Prayers

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

From → General

One Comment
  1. Peter Alex permalink

    So this guy eventually died. One wonders why it took the last minute before the news of his condition got to the public. May be prayers would have saved him, well may be not.
    But he had enough time to sort issues with God and I hope he did gave his life to Christ. Good night Mustapha

Leave a Reply

