Skip to content

MY FRIEND MUSTAPHA AMEGO!!! PLEASE PRAY FOLKS!

October 19, 2013

I do not know how to report this one. I am emotional, I am crying, I am totally disorganised. I spoke to Mustapha a couple of times in May this year and we discussed his dreams and his work. How could I have known he was terminally ill? All the way, thousands of miles away, he called me and we discussed. His voice sounded like Funky Mallam’s. It did not sound different. Perhaps if I had an inkling about this crazy word called cancer, I would have detected something. But Mustapha Amego sounded like the Mustapha Amego I knew way back then. Deep, intense, intelligent, quietly vibrant! Only yesterday, I wished him a happy birthday, expecting a reply which I knew would be accompanied by the usual complement. Then I got the message much later at night. Azuka Jebose had seen my birthday wish. He gave me the devastating news. Mustapha had colon cancer which had spread. He said we must pray. I was thoroughly beaten. Please guys let us pray for Mustapha Amego, a great cinematographer, an accomplished Nigerian. I heard news from Azuka a while ago, it is not good news but God is in control.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

From → Lifestyle

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

