Skip to content

A Sex-Starved Wife seeks justice!

June 4, 2013

An Abuja Area Court on Monday reserved judgment  for June 10 in the case of a 35-year-old woman, Maryam Mohammed, who sued her husband for allegedly spending more nights with his second wife.

The presiding Judge, Haruna Masanawa, fixed the date after hearing the testimony of the plaintiff’s elder brother, Salisu Mohammed, who stood in as her witness.

Mohammed confirmed the plaintiff’s claim during his testimony that she often visited her parents’ house to spend about three months because her husband was starving her of food.

He, however, denied knowledge of sex starving because he was not sleeping in the same bed with the couple.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the plaintiff, who lives in Sabon-Lugbe on Airport Road, accused her husband, Adamu, of neglect, selfishness and starving her of sex and food.

Maryam also told the court that her parents had been sending food to her.

She, therefore, urged the court to dissolve the marriage forthwith, to enable her to marry another man who can take care of her.

“My Lord, whenever it is my turn for the night, my husband would sneak into the bedroom of my second and spend the night there. He has neglected me; he has become very selfish and no longer gives me food or money for my feeding.

“Rather, it is my parents who have been sending me food. I am seeking immediate divorce to enable me to marry a man that can take care of me.’’

The defendant, however, denied his wife’s claims, saying that he could not satisfy his wife’s needs because he had been sick for a long time.

“My Lord, I cannot satisfy her needs because of my prolonged illness. Now that I am getting better and I still love her, I urge her to stay and the court should not grant her any divorce,’’ he had said.

Masanawa directed the couple to go home and explore avenues of settling their differences and return to court with their report on the adjourned judgment date of June 10. (NAN)

 

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

